YUGIOH!!!! MESTRE DE DUELO

Rulings at the World Championship

Ver o tópico anterior Ver o tópico seguinte Ir em baixo

Rulings at the World Championship

Mensagem por dracofu em Dom 04 Mar 2012, 16:05



Over the years, the OCG and TCG have become rather different card
games with the release of OCG exclusives and TCG exclusives. However,
the main defining factor would be the difference in rulings.

Here are some of the different OCG and TCG rulings observed in past,
and how they were ruled in each of the respective World Championship.



World Championship 2008 @ Berlin, Germany


  • OCG ruling for Necro Gardna:
    Necro Gardna’s effect can be chained to the activation of an effect that removes it (i.e. D.D. Crow).
  • TCG ruling for Necro Gardna:
    Necro Gardna’s effect cannot be chained to the activation of an effect that removes it (i.e. D.D. Crow).
  • Ruling used at the World Championship: OCG ruling
    TCG ruling for Necro Gardna was revised to reflect the OCG ruling in September 2008.

World Championship 2009 @ Tokyo, Japan


  • OCG ruling for Rivalry of Warlords:
    If you have only 1 monster on the field face-up, you may not Tribute it for a monster that is a different Type.
  • TCG ruling for Rivalry of Warlords:
    If you have only 1 monster on the field face-up, you may Tribute it for a monster that is a different Type.
  • Ruling used at the World Championship: OCG ruling
    TCG ruling for Rivalry of Warlords was revised to reflect the OCG ruling in June 2010.

World Championship 2010 @ Long Beach, USA


  • OCG ruling for Elemental HERO Prisma:
    Showing 1 Fusion Monster to your opponent and sending 1 Fusion Material Monster to your Graveyard is a cost to activate the effect.
  • TCG ruling for Elemental HERO Prisma:
    Showing 1 Fusion Monster to your opponent and sending 1 Fusion Material Monster to your Graveyard is not a cost to activate the effect.
  • Ruling used at the World Championship: OCG ruling
    TCG ruling for Elemental HERO Prisma was revised to reflect the OCG ruling in September 2010, in Gold Series 3, Tagforce 5 — Card Rulings (PDF).




  • OCG ruling for 0 ATK vs 0 ATK:
    If two Attack Position monsters with 0 ATK battle each other, neither monster is destroyed.
  • TCG ruling for 0 ATK vs 0 ATK:
    If two Attack Position monsters with 0 ATK battle each other, both monsters are destroyed.
  • Ruling used at the World Championship: OCG ruling
    TCG ruling for 0 ATK vs 0 ATK was revised to reflect the OCG ruling in March 2011, in Yu-Gi-Oh! TCG Official Rulebook Version 7.2 (PDF).

World Championship 2011 @ Amsterdam, Netherlands


  • OCG ruling for Ignition Effect:
    Turn-Player cannot use his Priority to activate the Ignition Effect of a monster upon the successful summon of a monster.
  • TCG ruling for Ignition Effect:
    Turn-Player can use his Priority to activate the Ignition Effect of a monster upon the successful summon of a monster.
  • Ruling used at the World Championship: OCG ruling

Conclusion

As seen from the past few World Championships, as well as the
upcoming one, the OCG ruling has always been favored, no matter where
the World Championship was held at. Nonetheless, it is comforting to
know that the rulings were revised and standardized eventually.

In the past, difference in rulings were often attributed to two
separate companies handling the game, namely Konami Digital
Entertainment and Upper Deck Entertainment.

This is still true currently.

Although Konami Digital Entertainment, Inc has taken over all
Operational and Business Aspects of Yu-Gi-Oh! TCG, it is still a
different company from Konami Digital Entertainment Co., Ltd.

Konami Corporation is made up of multiple subsidiaries (separate legal entities), namely:
Konami Digital Entertainment Co., Ltd. (Japan)
Konami Digital Entertainment, Inc. (America)
Konami Digital Entertainment GmbH. (Europe)
Konami Digital Entertainment Limited. (Asia)

Unlike divisions in the same company, subsidiaries operate on their
own, and in a sense, are competitors in the global market. As Konami
Digital Entertainment Co., Ltd. (Japan) and Konami Digital
Entertainment, Inc. (America) are separate entities, they have their own
R&D, which sometimes produce different rulings.

Ideally it is in everyone’s best interest that both companies
collaborate and standardize their rulings, but it is simply not feasible
in real life.

Even in Japan itself, as each set is Tournament Legal upon their
release, a temporary ruling is often issued through the Rulings Hotline
in the early few weeks. It is not uncommon for said temporary ruling to
be revised when the Official Rulings are released later in a month’s
time.

To remain competitive, it is optimal that you educate yourself with
the correct OCG/TCG ruling observed in your region. Avoid confusing
yourself with the other OCG/TCG rulings. For the uninitiated, Duelist
Codex covers only OCG rulings.

Disclaimer

Duelist Codex is not associated with Konami Corporation or any of
their subsidiaries. This post is simply for your reading pleasure. Take
it with a pinch of salt.



dracofu
Exodias
Exodias


Masculino
Número de Mensagens : 3643
Idade : 38
Pontos : 1681469
Data de inscrição : 28/02/2008

Ver perfil do usuário http://mestrededuelo.forumeiros.com

Voltar ao Topo Ir em baixo

Ver o tópico anterior Ver o tópico seguinte Voltar ao Topo


 
Permissão deste fórum:
Você não pode responder aos tópicos neste fórum