YUGIOH!!!! MESTRE DE DUELO

Important Rulebook Updates! “Xyz Materials” and “Leaves the Field”

Ver o tópico anterior Ver o tópico seguinte Ir em baixo

Important Rulebook Updates! “Xyz Materials” and “Leaves the Field”

Mensagem por dracofu em Dom 11 Set 2011, 18:37

Just in time for the start of a new Dueling era, we’ve posted the
latest version of the official rulebook on our website. You can find the
new Version 8.0 rulebook here. If you’re the type who normally ignores updates to the rulebook, do not ignore this one. There are two major additions that will affect
you and the way you play. If you look on page 45 (it’s in the “Other
Rules” section) you’ll see that there are now sections on “Xyz
Materials” and “Leaves the Field”. Take a look at them in the new
rulebook, then come back here and read on.



“Xyz Materials”

Xyz Summoning is rapidly becoming an important part of the game, so
it’s important for Duelists to know exactly how it works. The basics are
easy. Take monsters with the same Level, put them on top of each other,
put the Xyz Monster on top of that. But what exactly is happening here?
Are the materials leaving the field? Are they still there, just not as
monsters anymore? What characteristics do they still have? Do any of
their effects apply?

All of these are questions we receive on a daily basis. That’s why we
put an explanation of Xyz Materials on page 45. Monsters that become
Xyz Materials stop being treated as actual cards on the field. Instead,
they become part of the Xyz Monster that’s being Summoned to the field.
As a result, the Xyz Materials lose their previous identities and
effects and only exist as part of the larger monster. They’re also
severed from any effects that were applied to them on the field, which
makes sense because they aren’t monsters anymore, they’re pieces of
something else.

“Leaves the Field”

This begs the question, do Xyz Materials ever “leave the field”? Once
they stop being monsters and start being Xyz Materials, they’re no
longer considered “cards on the field”, but they’re still sitting there
right in front of you. When they’re detached, they go to the Graveyard
which is something that most people consider “leaving the field”. So it
seems, initially, that the card would leave the field twice. But then, you have to reconcile all of this with cards like Reborn Tengu that
cannot activate their “leaves the field” effect when they are returned
from the field to the Deck even though they clearly had to leave to get
there. That’s why we included the section on “leaves the field”.

This section specifically defines what will and will not trigger a
“leaves the field” effect. A card on the field that is sent to the
Graveyard, banished, or returned to the hand or Extra Deck can activate
its “leaves the field” effect. A card that is shuffled into the Main
Deck or becomes Xyz Material cannot. I think you’ll agree that it’s much
easier to say “If this card leaves the field” rather than “If this card
on the field is sent to the Graveyard, banished, or returned to the
hand or Extra Deck” and gives us more room to tell you what the card
actually does.

What does all this mean?



The end result is that it’s now even easier to tell what your cards
do, and what they don’t do. “What constitutes ‘leaving the field’?” is
easily the most frequently asked question I’ve seen in the 26 months
I’ve been working here at Konami. Now it’s neatly spelled out in the
rulebook, where it belongs. Definitely check it out if you still
haven’t, and while you’re at it, read up on Xyz Materials too especially
if you plan on playing any tournaments in the near future.

Have fun, and keep Dueling!



dracofu
Exodias
Exodias


Masculino
Número de Mensagens : 3643
Idade : 38
Pontos : 1681467
Data de inscrição : 28/02/2008

Ver perfil do usuário http://mestrededuelo.forumeiros.com

Voltar ao Topo Ir em baixo

Ver o tópico anterior Ver o tópico seguinte Voltar ao Topo


 
Permissão deste fórum:
Você não pode responder aos tópicos neste fórum